Camp Kirkwood

It was Wednesday morning and Hurricane Idalia was making its way up the east coast. As everybody arrived at school we started a game of Lovett says. A game of true intelligence only the smartest of smart could win. Would you win? As we all piled into buses the true journey began THE BUS RIDE. In the bus the second turned into minutes the minutes turned into hours the hours turned into days. But finally we stopped, were we there yes, it’s finally over….. Nope, just a kid in need of a restroom. But yes in the time we had, we stretched our legs for the best sensation, the feeling of getting out of your seat after sitting for too long. Eventually the bus ride was over. We grabbed bags and dumped them into the pavilion outside of the rain. 



As orientation ended the wind grew louder and the sun went into hiding. Something was on the horizon. And it was coming fast. It was a hurricane. When the hurricane did come the rain hit hard against the roof soothing for some and terrible for others. Not very many people slept that night. The next day the hurricane started to pass, this is when the real fun started. My first activity was Kangoo jump. It was kind of like a trampoline but this one there was no side so if you bounced off then you were gone into the woods. Another activity was the pool. If you wanted to swim without a life vest then you would need to pass the swimming test. I personally thought it would go fine until I realized I would be the last one to do it with everybody’s eyes on me. I jumped into the water and felt supersizingley very nice then I paddled with all I had. I did it and I passed. Then we had to go kayaking where I was one of the two paddlers in a boat where one wrong turn and the backseat kayakers would tell you had to do better. I would like to see that. 



Then came the meals. They were mysteriously chewy and crunchy, especially the ham. It was so stretchy. But the other food was better you could say but the best of all was the pink lemonade. It went faster than you could say lemonade. So did the cereal. It was a change to what we had been eating that whole time. The last day we had a nice snack break filled with delicious goldfish. On the topic of food the last day was filled with people looking at a very cute baby pig named Bubbles. AND NO THAT DOES NOT MEAN WE WANTED TO EAT BUBBLES.

 

As I awoke on the final day I commemorated the fun activity’s the food and the MASSIVE SPIDERS bigger than the size of your hand just lurking in the dark corners attacking lose bugs in the cabins. But as the trip finally ended I looked back on the fun times I had doing activities and watching The Lorax. It was a fun trip but I was ready to sleep in my own bed and room.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *